After a car accident in California, it is only natural that people want to move on and resume their normal lives as soon as possible. Unfortunately, drivers on a budget may find that a car accident sends their expenses through the roof. This most often occurs when the insurance company determines that the driver is at fault. However, there are instances when an insurance company raises the premium regardless.
Even if you are a careful driver, you may still get into a car accident. If you get into a traffic accident in California, the law generally requires you to make an official report of the incident. The nature and severity of the accident may require you to take certain actions when responding to and reporting a collision. Failing to react properly or report a collision correctly may lead to loss of driving privileges.
There have been several public awareness campaigns in recent years designed to inform California residents of distracted driving risks and the penalties for such behavior under state law. While texting and driving reduces the safety of everyone on the road, the potential risks may be especially high for teen drivers. Using a handheld electronic device while driving significantly increases the risk of getting into an accident, but it may be hard for many young people who have grown up with smartphones to avoid using one while behind the wheel.
There is an extremely wide range of injuries that may happen during a motor vehicle accident, from minor bruises to traumatic brain injuries. California residents who experience TBI may have different symptoms depending on the severity of the injury. While physical signs of a car accident may fade fairly quickly, a TBI could affect a patient for years to come.
According to CNBC, California and four other states accounted for half of the pedestrian fatalities across America in 2018. America’s pedestrian death toll of 6,227 was 250 deaths higher than the previous year. In fact, since 2008, pedestrian deaths increased by 41%. Estimates now say that 16% of traffic fatalities are pedestrians.
If you recently sustained or caused injuries in an accident in California, you may be concerned about whether or not your insurance policy covers medical costs. The best source of information is your insurance company. If you sign into your policy online or view your insurance card, it should show you what your policy covers and does not cover. If you financed your car, there may be a greater likelihood that you have full coverage.
According to ABC News, California’s Bay Area has the worst roads in America. The roughest roads are in the San-Francisco-Oakland area, where a whopping 71% of these are in poor condition. The pot holes are so bad that some drivers claim it feels like driving through a third world country.
According to Market Insider, California is one of the worst states to file an accident claim. California gets ranked second after Michigan and Louisiana. What did researchers use to arrive at this conclusion? They looked at the states where drivers pay the most on average after filing auto accident claims. Michigan and Louisiana average $3,502 and $3,348 respectively. California averages $3,081.
In the ideal world, drivers all have car insurance and no one drives stolen cars or on a revoked or suspended license. Unfortunately, no one lives in a perfect world and Californians are no exception. USA Today notes that nationwide, one in eight drivers have no insurance. This may result from either lapsing on insurance payments or never buying insurance because they do not own a car.
Virtually every driver in California experiences a car accident in their life at some point. Sometimes they are the drivers and other times they are a passenger. Sometimes it is just a fender bender, while other times it may be more serious. Despite how common car accidents are, many people do not know what to do after a car crash. They may also not realize that how they handle the accident may determine who is at fault and therefore has to pay the bill.